This grouping of initial ideation thumbnails is inspired by all the previous research I’ve discussed, while sticking to an inherently modern and minimalist aesthetic. I personally am a big fan of clean, modern designs, and this definitely translates to the ideas I determine to be worth sketching.

The leftmost cluster of sketches seen above represents sketches based on empathy or meaning, with no attention paid to the overall utility of the design. Of this grouping I was definitely drawn to the ideas tied to the Blue Jay’s servitude of the Devil. The “sharp” aesthetic and visual interest generated by such a controversial point of inspiration are striking to me, representing the aggressiveness of the bird while also directly drawing upon its meaning in culture.

The top right cluster of sketches represent a more “functional” or “utilitarian” cluster of ideas, aimed at providing the bird with the most appropriate shelter, all while doing so in style. It’s easy to see the inspiration drawn from modern architecture in these sketches, which was done on purpose. I’ve always been a fan of pioneering architects and their mesmerizing forms, with Zaha Hadid being one of my favorites. Her design for the Heydar Aliyev Center in Azerbaijan greatly informed my initial designs, as I hoped to create a birdhouse that could also be both elegant and attention-demanding.

Finally, the bottom right cluster includes ideas that combine both utility and empathy, resulting in one cohesive design. These designs drew on inspiration from both the previous sketch clusters, resulting in modern forms that alluded to cultural references in which Blue Jays were mentioned. Sketches from this cluster ended up becoming some of my final designs.

Leave a comment